NM Highway Safety Laws

Read More

Will I lose my New Mexico driver’s license for DUI?

Read More

NM Ignition Interlock Providers

Read More

Will a DUI charge in another state count as previous case in another one?

Read More

Can you legally get a DUI while sleeping?


I was sleeping in my car in the parking lot when I woke up to a flashlight shining in my face. I was then arrested for DUI. Is this legal?

 

Yes you can legally get a DUI/ DWI criminal charge for sleeping in a vehicle. Whether you are guilty of DUI/DWI while merely sleeping in your vehicle will depend on the law of the State where you were arrested. State laws vary regarding this issue (“control”). It’s critical to consult with a licensed and experienced DUI/DWI criminal defense attorney from the state having jurisdiction over the criminal matter.

 

Answered by Lawyer Salim A. Khayoumi in Albuquerque, NM on June 10, 2011 | Answer Applies to: New Mexico | Disclaimer: The response above does not form an attorney-client relationship. This answer may or may not apply to you and should not be relied upon as legal advice.

Read More

DWI School


 

Course for defendants convicted as a DWI lst Offender.

  • A certified 12-hour course
  • Classes held on Monday through Thursday; also on Saturday
  • School Fee is $100.00. Rescheduling Fee is $25.00
  • Classes available in Spanish
  • Formal documents from court/agency referring defendant required for class registration
  • Course offered by Bernalillo County Metropolitan Court at the Educational Services Center located at the Metro Park Building.
Read More