Revocation


Driver’s License Revocation for DWI

 

If charged with a DWI DUI in New Mexico you could potentially have your drivers license revoked by the following government agencies:

(1)   the New Mexico Taxation & Revenue Dept (MVD); &

(2)  the Criminal Court separately after a  conviction for DWI.


In both situations, your license is revoked. You can still drive only if the vehicle you’re driving has an ignition interlock installed on it AND you have obtained an approved “Ignition Interlock Driver’s License”.

 

If you’re caught driving a vehicle without an ignition interlock or with an interlock but without an ignition interlock license you will be arrested for “driving while revoked” which means mandatory jail time.

Driving While Revoked for DWI

(Penalties for driving without an interlock when it’s required. §66-5-39)


  • Misdemeanor
  • 1-year revocation added to current revocation period
  • Up to one year in jail, 7 days mandatory.
  • Up to $1,000 fine; $300 mandatory.
  • 30 days immobilization of vehicle driven by offender.